The curriculum sets out the knowledge, skills and understanding to be learned and taught.  It is also concerned with attitudes and values. 

As an Academy Four Acres can decide its own curriculum. 

We ensure that our curriculum:

  • Is based on the vision, aims, values and ethos of the school 
  • Is broad and balanced and is careful to ensure sufficient depth of study.
  • Makes links across subject areas, to make learning relevant and exciting.
  • Introduces pupils to a wide range of experiences, knowledge skills and understanding.
  • Encourages the development of computing skills within subjects.
  • Encourages the application as well as the acquisition of knowledge, skills and understanding.
  • Reflects equal opportunities and non-discrimination for all pupils.

Curriculum 5-11 

Our decision is to base learning and teaching for pupils in Key Stage 1 (5-7) and Key Stage 2 (7-11) on the National Curriculum as set out in 2013.  This sets out what pupils should know, understand and be able to do at different stages.

Link to curriculum guidlines:  Curriculum statements 2017.pdf

Links to curriculum Maps for each Key Stage can be found here:

The National Curriculum sets out, in detail, the ‘core subjects’ of English: reading (including phonics), writing (including grammar, spelling, punctuation and vocabulary) speaking and listening, and Mathematics. 

It also covers Science, Art and Design, Computing, Design and Technology, Geography, History, Music, PE.  

At Four Acres Academy we believe in developing the whole child. Our Core Skills Curriculum covers the social and emotional aspects of learning as well as developing a range of skills that pupils need to support them in their life and learning. Evidence of the Core Skills Curriculum can be seen by I Can displays in each class all of which include our mascot Rufus the Resilient Rhinoceros, details of which can be found here. The key themes for this curriculum are: 

  • Learning with Others
  • Developing  Independence and Responsibility 
  • Improving Own Learning and Performance
  • Developing Sense of Worth and Understanding of Self and Others
  • Thinking Skills
  • Speaking and Listening 

The National Curriculum also includes at KS2 the learning of a modern foreign language – at Four Acres this is Spanish.    

The government also requires schools to ‘actively promote the fundamental British values of democracy, the rule of law, individual liberty, and mutual respect and tolerance of those with different faiths and beliefs’.  The Four Acres curriculum covers this in the SMSC (spiritual, moral, social and cultural) related content and experiences in the planned curriculum. There is also an agreed RE curriculum.  Daily assemblies and other school activities address different aspects of the curriculum.

To see the curriculum the curriculum content for pupils at Four Acres Academy look at the Class Pages  


For each area of the curriculum there is a Lead Teacher.  Teachers are also members of a curriculum group.  There are currently four curriculum groups, each working on a cross-curricular project.  

Early Years curriculum (2-5) 

Our Early Years Team plan and deliver a curriculum that is based around children’s interest and needs. Many activities are child led meaning the children choose their own activity. Other activities are taught directly in order to develop key skills such as reading, writing and number. Teachers track progress and work closely with families to ensure every child makes excellent progress and achieves well. Your child will also be learning in the outside areas and will need a suitable coat and footwear appropriate for all weather conditions. Pupils in Foundation stage 1 spend time as separate classes and time when the classes open up sharing the activities and space.


Logo 1

Logo 2

Logo 3

Logo 4

Logo 5